jump to navigation

driving me mad April 8, 2009

Posted by Aella in Bahrain, Culture, Don't - just don't, Life, Manama, Whack.
trackback

Summer seems to have made its entrance here and the weather is grand indeed. I so need to find a place where I can go to (outdoors). A not so crowded, clean place by the water. I just need to go out and find it right?

The driving here…well it is getting to me on and off. It is the fact that people seem to lack common sense and instead possessing common asshole attitudes that angers me. They come in all shapes and sizes. For example, you have the young man that needs to drive in 130 the 500 meters between the two traffic lights.  Dude…you don’t get any further than that..  We all have to stop here so you didn’t save any of your precious time. He posses the I-want-to-be-the-only-asshole-on-the-road-attitude. Because God forbid someone else drives like him or gets angry with his shitty driving. Then he lashes out in a retarded rage in order to frighten whoever has the nerve to get upset. This kind is really a nuisance and should be locked up in my opinion. Brain capacity 0%.

Then we have the other annoying personality.  The Bahraini women that in all their holiness think they can park and drive how they want. Their mobile phones are always, and I mean always glued to their ears as they are chattering and laughing driving down the road.  Only. OH!! I missed the exit to wherever I am going oooh I neeed to turn now ! Oh I don’t know how to do this! I will just drive across this narrow street with my big GMC and maybe it will work (still talking on the phone telling her friend how awful people are honking at her – how dare they?? I will tell baba!). My brain capacity isn’t enough for me to understand that I can go to the end of the street/road and do a U-turn like everyone else because I am sooo busy talking to my friend about all the craziness at work!

I am sorry but these women drive me nuts. I mean who the hell stops a big as SUV on a narrow street, blocking the traffic, ordering her shawarma…..fair enough. but then she sits and waits for it as the blocks the traffic (Adliye), talking on the mobile, pretending she doesn’t understand what all the  honking is all about. I mean what the hell is wrong with a person like that? Some parts of the brains are missing or she just wasn’t brought up at all? And this is not a one off. I have seen it plenty of times.

Impulse is the name of the game here.  I want to stop here. So I will do it. I am blocking the traffic but it is my right to do this because I have a license which must mean I am smart or something, anything right?

I want to throw my coke can out of the window now. So I’ll do it. I can’t wait until I come home and throw it in the bin. Now! I need to get rid of it now. Khallas.

I want to talk to my friend standing on the pavement. So, I’ll do it. I am blocking the traffic I know but everyone behind me is an asshole for honking. Can’t they see I am talking to my friend?

I am driving on a road with only one lane and the person in front of me is driving a tad too slow. I am flashing my lights like mad so he can drive to the side and let me pass by! Asshole! Why isn’t he driving to the side?? So what there is only one lane!!! Move asshole!! I need to drive in really fast to the next traffic light! AND I HAVE AN EXPENSIVE CAR,CAN’T YOU SEE?? I AM AN IMPORTANT PERSON!!

Ah well fugg you all. Everyone driving like this is retarded in my opinion. They never understood what traffic is all about. IT ISN’T A FIGHT OR WHO WILL GET THERE FIRST!!! IT’S TEAM WORK AND CONSIDERATION FOR THE BIGGER MASSES! IT ISN’T ABOUT YOU BEING THE MOST IMPORTANT PERSON ON THE ROAD!! But then again if people aren’t raised to care for other people (other than their own immediate family) then you really can’t expect them to understand these things. Really. It is boring to see so many people with so little consideration for other people.

Comments»

1. Michael Jones - April 8, 2009

Hey, It’s the same thing here in Cyprus! I’ve lived in Malta and it’s similar too. I drove once in Sicily (and survived to tell the story) and got a bad impression of how things work over there. I think it’s related to the sun and heat…. probably kills all brain cells, or maybe the “consideration” cells.

2. Klara Kaos - April 8, 2009

Hey, never visit Tunisia?…lol, I´m taking of for Sousse on sunday, hands are shivering – going to hire a car again this time. But if I drive like a libyan, it´s not a big deal…:-)

3. anyony - April 9, 2009

At least we have some adherence to traffic rules… Considering you lived in Saudi, you would know a thing or two about crazy driving😀

Yeh Bahraini women need to look at their Saudi sisters, time to revoke their licenses

4. mmk080 - April 10, 2009

“The Bahraini women that in all their holiness think they can park and drive how they want.” – Sous

Their holiness has nothing to do with their lack of understanding of traffic attiquette or common sense. It is that which makes them get on ur nerves, pls do not mix religion with lack of understanding or ignorance b/c then u r insulting quite a large number of people in this area.

5. AbuKevin - April 10, 2009

Salam O alikom,

Sister you really need to chiiill out, chill with the still. I mean god forbid you nerve system will fail you one of these days, these people are not retarted or ars****(swearing) they are just “JAHAL” ignorance is the way today.

Anyway in my years of driving experience I still believe that UK has the best traffic act and good behaviour on the roads.
Cheers Big earrs.

6. Sous - April 11, 2009

Hiya,

Thanks for all your comments.

Klarakaos: Good luck with your driving. You just need to control your breathing and you’ll be alright😉

anyony: Hmm well I don’t think the traffic is terrible here. I know some other countries where it is a lot worse. Like you said..Saudi. But no wonder when it is only men driving😉 .

mmk080..Well sometimes I think people make an effort in misunderstanding and jumping to conclusions in regards to insulting people in this region. First…I am muslim myself and I am not looking to insult anyone regardless of their religion. Second, me referring to some womens holiness has nothing to do with religion either, it is simply me getting annoyed with their refusal to communicate with the world around them. These women act in a very innocent way as if they are above all the rules that the rest of us have to adhere to and I find it pretty arrogant. It is as if they know that no one will confront them when they act in they way that they do.
As for ignorance and lack of understanding…I took my license here in Bahrain, gone to the same traffic school as these ladies and probably have had my license shorter time than they have. What is the difference between us then? Why do I try to follow the rules of the road and show consideration to my fellow drivers and not them? What makes you think they lack understanding?
And to make it clear. I am by no means saying that ALL Bahraini women are inconsiderate while driving.

AbuKevin:🙂 wa aleikum salam brother “I still believe that UK has the best traffic act and good behaviour on the roads” You have never been to Sweden then😉 . And btw😛 you guys drive on the wrong side of the road haha.

Sous

7. anyony - April 13, 2009

Lol, the part about only men driving in saudi is true. I love you twist on my point😀 made me laugh.

I’d say my current adopted country (Canada) has the best drivers. Its usually crazy amounts of snow, slush, wet roads around here for most of the year and people drive carefully and abide by the laws. The idiots in Bahrain have their emergency lights on when it rains? and you read about the number of accidents rising on the slick rainy roads😀

I blame the driving training school in Isa Town, those driving instructors are horrible.

8. nicole - April 13, 2009

Hey girl🙂
Did you try the area at Al Bander Resort?
Take a Dolphin tour😉

Don’t let the drivers, especially the women get to you too much. You only get stomach problems🙂


Leave a Reply

