jump to navigation

General sadness August 2, 2008

Posted by Aella in Bahrain, Beirut, Culture, Lebanon, Manama, Sweden, Work.
trackback

I am back in Dubai since Thursday evening. The last few days have been really busy and it took me some time to realise that I could actually use the computers in the hotel that I am staying in. In my typical ways I tried finding a unsecured wireless network to hook up to but only managed to disable the Microsoft Wireless client thingy..

My little princesses left for Beirut with their father Wednesday morning and it broke my heart, really broke my heart to see them leave. I can’t think about it cus it just makes me tear. After I went back up to the apartment I broke down. Seeing their clothes, teddy bears, a blanket, their fingerprints on the glass table, hearing the echoe of their little voices giggling as they tickle and tease me. I miss my children so much and I really cannot imagine what life would be like without having them near me. I used to think women that broke down when their kids leave home at adult age were silly but now I can so understand what they are going through..

Dubai…is humid and hot. Everyone has an opinion about Dubai whether they have been here or not but my general impression is that it is one huge construction site. There is plenty to do here for tourists though so I do think they have done quite a good job on that part.
What else?

Feeling exhausted from July. I felt weak and down throughout most of the month and the day before I “got” my leave was too much. Many times we don’t realise how living in cultures different than our own affects us. How we mistake things without even understanding it, assuming people have the same frames of reference as we do. How it stresses us out being confused about different sets of standards that are thrown at us. Different definitions of ethics. Yes, and most of the time we might not even understand anything of this as we go through it…
I am tired and I am feeling really old.

And lost at sea.

Comments»

1. Dubbelörnen - August 3, 2008

Kramar om dig hårt o läääänge… vännen min…

Varmaste kramen är din ikväll

2. D.H - August 3, 2008

Ja det är hemskt…verkar vara sorge månad för många av oss…
Det värsta är tysnaden som blir så påtaglig.
Hoppas tiden går fort och du har prinssesorna hos dej igen!
Har prinsen kommit tillbaks än?
Bamse kram.


Leave a Reply

