jump to navigation

Bless Bahrain March 19, 2008

Posted by Aella in Bahrain, Life, Manama.
trackback

The last few days I been in contact with quite a few Bahrainis and all I can say is that they are the kindest people I have ever met. They are polite, educated, funny and friendly. There is no pretend and they are really down to earth which I appreciate. I hope this mentality will stay but I am worried it will change as Bahrain is changing with all the things that are going on here.. I feel somehow that all this reclaiming of land and all the construction that is going on is not beneficial for the local population and it saddens me. I know there are local companies involved but how much should us foreigners be allowed to change this country? What do the average Bahraini think about it? I asked a few and they don’t seem to agree with it and also feels saddened by the rapid change of their country. What will Bahrain look like in five years I wonder and will the charm of the people and the land have disappeared ?

It hit me yesterday that I have now been here non stop since August last year and I still don’t feel the need to get out for a break even though this place is tiny. There has been a lot do and I am getting quite busy at work these days. I am really enjoying all aspects of my job (well except perhaps that I feel that I am small a part of the above mentioned change of the country). Even the part where I am so tired that I fall asleep at nine at night😛. Feels good to be able to fall asleep and not wake up because I am restless or not tired enough. Hamdulillah.

Driving is great and I am enjoying every minute of the freedom it has provided me with. Will have to get a rental soon so I guess I should start having a look around as to what I need and want. The car I am driving now is consuming way too much petrol for someone who needs to drive as much as I have to. Something smaller yet not too small will be what I am looking for. I am totally clueless when it comes to cars and not sure if I even care to learn (but uh I soo should).

Comments»

1. Mark - March 19, 2008

Hello,
I am looking to relocate to Bahrain by the end of May and I have some questions.
– How tolerant are the people in regard to the dress code?
Is it hard to be a single man there with regards to the customs of an Arab country?
How high are the rent prices?
Will it be easy to find an apartment?
I would appreciate if you can email me in regards to these questions and I have some other questions regarding my package and the pay if it is a good deal and if it is hard or easy to survive on what I will be getting.
Many thanks in advance
Mark

2. D.H - March 20, 2008

Salam!
Jaha svensk liknande araber?😉
Exploatering är inte kul,på väg till jobbet ser jag ett väg bygge rakt in i den skog jag plockade blåsippor i som barn:-(
Om du inte känner behov att resa nånstans så har du hittat hem,insAllha!
Bensin snåla bilar…Toyota Yaris eller Nissan Tiida,säger jag som inte har nåt körkort,men sonen har kollat in dom.
Ha det så bra, bamse kram

3. Nicole - March 20, 2008

That was my impression too.
Funny, friendly, well educated people.
Some of the taxi drivers told us about some of the last changes.
It is sad.
Just another place in the world where the culture probably will get lost😦

I’m glad you enjoy driving :)!

4. Sous - March 21, 2008

Hiya Mark,

You dont have to worry too much about the dress code in Bahrain. People dress as they like and you are free to do so. Ok, walking without a shirt is not a good idea but I dont think it is in any city (if ur looking to live in Manama). I see people wearing shorts and tshirt every day, both men and women. Its up to you what makes you feel comfortable. I dont think people find it offensive to see a man in shorts here (unless they are microshorts :P). I personally wouldnt feel comfortable to wear shorts outside but some do.. Its all about showing respect and trying to figure out what is appropriate where.
In what sense do you mean is it hard to be a single man here? I dont think it is harder here than elsewhere really (not that im a man). Single men go out here, they date women and do normal things really.
Please email me with any question you might have at sasinsaudi@gmail.com . I can answer your rental questions there as well.

All the best
Sous

5. Global Voices Online » Bahrain: Kindest People Ever - March 21, 2008

[…] Sous, a Swedish woman living in Bahrain, wonders about the impact of development on Bahrainis. “Bahrainis … are the most kind people I have ever met. They are polite, educated, funny and friendly. There is no pretend and they are really down to earth which I appreciate. I hope this mentality will stay but I am worried it will change as Bahrain is changing with all the things that are going on here,” she writes. Share This […]

6. stuff bahrainis like - March 21, 2008

That is very touching. As a Bahraini, I would like to say: THANK YOU.

7. Sous - March 25, 2008

Kramar till dig Dalila🙂. U always make me smile🙂
Nicole, Im still waiting for you guys to come here!!

Stuff Bahrainis like…🙂 your welcome. Every day I meet more and more nice Bahrainis and I am happy to have ended up in a country with such friendly locals.

8. Nicole - March 26, 2008

We might come some time next month, but I have no clue yet🙂


Leave a Reply

