jump to navigation

Or those days… February 15, 2008

Posted by Aella in Bahrain, India, Life, Manama.
trackback

As I am driving around in Manama I constantly have things in my head that I want to write about buuut once I am sitting down it all goes away. Still no internet connection so Starbucks will have to do for now.

The other day I had two Ethiopian girls coming to my place to do some cleaning. We spoke a little and one of them said that after five years of working in peoples homes as a maid she couldn’t imagine doing that again. She said she needs her freedom and that “Arab people” treats us like slaves, especially if we are from Africa. This is such a sad thing to hear. I mean, I know it but it’s so sad that people have this attitude towards their staff.

Yesterday the other girl that was cleaning my place came to the entrance of the house as I stood there waiting for the caretaker to open. Suddenly she put her hand up in the air and high fived me, grabbed my hand and did some YooooMTV rap handshake… I was like uuuh? What’s that all about. I don’t mind shaking peoples hands but what’s up with this “sista” yo yo handshake? Sigh.
Later in the evening I went to cut my hair and ended up doing it in Sanad (just passed by a place and went in – couldn’t get an appointment with Dessange the same day bleh) . After the haircut a Filipino woman was blow drying my hair. I was watching her face in the mirror as she was working. Serious and concentrated on her work. I was thinking a little about who she was and how long she has been here when she finished and held up a mirror in front of me exclaiming – There Madam!! Sooo sexy, very sexy!! Look Madam!
!
!
I felt like a mix of a question mark and a exclamation mark..
So many times I must look like some odd person with my facial expression just hmm puzzled when these things happen. Sooo sexy! Such an odd comment to say when you fix someones hair uh.

Anyway, I still feel like I am in India most of the time (always wanted to go there). Indians everywhere basically. A little confusing sometimes. Yesterday I actually understood something when two men were talking Hindi (to my surprise). In December I signed up for a Hindi course at Livemocha.com but haven’t been too active lately. Well since there are so many Indians here and I love their food I should get something out of it so I sometimes ask them about where I can get authentic Indian food. I was told by a colleague yesterday that a restaurant called Lahore serves good food so I will go and check it out sometime. Anyone been there?

But khallas, do I really have nothing to write about or what? Last week has been so hectic with all the kids (sounds like I have 12 huh) being sick, me trying to get a part time maid calling one gazillion people, trying to go to work, trying to get the new place together, one of the kids in hospital for two days and then wham as soon as they are all fine I get sick! Inshalla the coming weeks will be better cus I am really eager to start working properly and get my new life together.

Comments»

1. Nicole - February 15, 2008

Ouch – kids sick, one in hospital and now you sick?
Hope all is better on your end soon!
Despite that you sound like you are making the Best of it.

Yeah, sometimes I feel like a walking question mark myself.
Pretty strange sometimes.

I just had a phone call, bringing back a huge question mark, grin….😀

2. ammaro - February 17, 2008

well, downtown manama is full of indians, a lot of them work there so you’ll feel surrounded by them. as you spread out around bahrain you’ll see more walks of people.

as for the sexy thing, hehe… yeah, the hairdressers here have a thing with that… consider it another word for pretty :p

lahore is nearby awal cinema, good indian food there. if you need any info on where to go what to do etc, let me know🙂

3. Arabic Music and songs » Blog Archive » B - February 17, 2008

[…] hand and did some YooooMTV rap handshake I was like uuuh? Whats that all about…. source: Or those days…, S as in […]

4. Sous - February 19, 2008

Hehe Nicole, wonder what that call might have been😛

Ammaro, I haven’t got a clue where Awal cinema is (or where Awal is)
You need to point me in the right direction🙂 .As for the B as in Bahrain comment from u in my previous post, well I registered it but im a little clueless how to change things if i want to keep this blog but change name (not sure what the best thing to do is really – any ideas?).

5. abecedario - February 26, 2008

hi!

6. Brains - February 28, 2008

You should get an O-Net from Batelco. Internet pretty much wherever you go.

It’ll cost you BD. 87 for the device and monthly BD. 10-29 depending on speed.

7. Sous - February 28, 2008

Hmm sounds good really. I could really do with that. I shall check out their site. I heard that Zain has something similar. Thank u Brains🙂


Leave a Reply

