jump to navigation

November November 17, 2007

Posted by Aella in Bahrain, Culture, India, Manama.
trackback

Some things that I have been thinking about lately…

Sometimes as I a driving I feel like I am in India or maybe Bangladesh (or Pakistan). There are so many people from these countries here that it feels like I am not in an Arab country. Yoooo, Arab Bahrainis you need to get more kids cus I don’t see too many of you. I would (and no offence to anyone) so like to see more Arabs in this country. Anyway, I guess I can tick off Bangladesh and India of countries that I have lived in now. And I feel the need to learn some basic Hindi for sure.

I still enjoy driving here and find people to be really helpful when parking for example. There are some dick heads on the road at times (yes women as well as men) but I don’t see too many of them.

In regard to our housekeepers sickness. The ward she is in is really old. Of course it is a stately hospital but what makes me wonder is…why are there only a certain kind of people there? I have seen mainly Asian workers there and sure it is probably so that they are in majority of having TB but how come I don’t see for example middle class Bahrainis there?

I been told that If I had TB (I have done every test in the book now and it all came out negative so fiiine hamdulillah) they wouldn’t admit me to this hospital for those two weeks of isolation even though it is the only hospital treating TB ( so I been told). They said that I could be at home getting treated if that was the case. The reason for these two weeks in the hospital is to make sure the decease doesn’t spread. I just don’t see why they make exceptions for some people? How can they control that people getting treated in their homes don’t go outside and spread their germs? I must admit that I have become seriously germ paranoid since this all happened. I have never cared much for germ paranoia but now I feel there are creepy germs everywhere! I always saw myself going to India (and I will anyway) but now I see myself wearing a mask walking through the crowds.

Comments»

1. rainmountain - November 18, 2007

I know what you mean, I don’t feel like being in an Arab country either for most times.
Just the mosque prayer call and some people bring me back to reality😉

Well, in regards to Germs, I don’t know if a mask would help, ’cause they are everywhere, but do you really want to look like this:
http://www.ipernity.com/doc/14369/228975
If so, you will not stick out much. Many Asians are wearing them😉

2. Sous - November 18, 2007

Hehe she might be afraid of the fresh air. Maybe she is a city person and is afraid the clean air will get to her😛 . So it’s the same in Kuwait then hehe it’s like mini Mumbai here (in some places). I been checkin out the saris here and perhaps it’s time to get one.

3. rainmountain - November 18, 2007

Yepp, as “bad” over here😉
Nah, too dangerous.
They – the Kuwaiti guys – barely harass me here, but wearing a Sari would make me quite vulnerable. I don’t think so. I don’t want to have to kick some Kuwaiti a***😉

4. Sous - November 18, 2007

Hehe I get you. Not that the Bahraini men are bothering me in any way. I think the Indians and Pakistanis would think I’m a lil odd if I wore a sari though. Who knows, they might just kick my ass😛 .

5. rainmountain - November 19, 2007

Nah, I don’t think they would.
They would probably give you a weird look, yeah, but mainly they would probably give you tips on how to wear it😉


Leave a Reply

