jump to navigation

Bahraini scam Letters :P September 3, 2007

Posted by Aella in Al Khobar, Bahrain, Culture, Lebanon, Manama, Saudi Arabia, Saudi culture.
trackback

As most of us with email address I too get the Nigeria scam letters which I of course never even bother open or read. Today to my surprise I found the following in my inbox:

“I am khalid mahmoud, A Bahrain national I have been diagnosed with Oesophageal cancer .It has defiled all forms of medical treatment, and right now I have only about a few months to live.I am very rich,but was never generous, I have given most of my assets to my immediate family members. I have decided to give alms to charity organizations.I cannot do this myself anymore because of my health.I once asked members of my family to give some money to charity organizations,they refused and kept the money.I have a huge cash deposit of Eighteen Million dollars with a finance House abroad. I will want you to help me collect this deposit and dispatch it to charity organizations.You will take out 20% of this funds for your assistance.DO REPLY ME VIA MY PRIVATE EMAIL(khalidmahmoudh@yahoo.gr) TO ASSIST ME.”

Can’t help but giggle😛 .Now this dude couldn’t even be bothered to write a proper mail even. Just like eeh I’m not generous so help me. Why would anyone help a person that claims not to be generous anyway? Wouldn’t that mean that he probably would rip one off. Ya ya I know, I shouldn’t even waste my time writing about it.

Yesterday I walked to Dana Mall from our house after realising they have shoemaker (not so sure they actually make shoes but they fix them) there. I put my shoes in a bag and went for the 15 min walk that it took. The humidity was so high and I felt really sticky by the time I got there. Not a problem really cus I really enjoyed the fact that I could just walk there. Just like that. No one bothering me on the way and no one bothering me in the mall. Now, people can talk about freedom and what that is but for me, being able to walk freely without having to have someone driving me or arranging it hours before, is part of what I define as freedom. It might not be much for people that take this for granted but after my time in Saudi I really appreciate this.

I am right now in the process of changing my Lebanese (wicked) drivers license to a International one and then I am looking to take some driving lessons and get a Bahraini license. I am a little worried about driving since I haven’t been driving for a long time and only in Beirut but I will just have to do it anyway. Inshalla it will all be fine.  It’s not like I am a crazy driver …🙄 (please have mercy on me you writers of the lifeinbahrain blog!)

Comments»

1. LiB Team - September 3, 2007

Hahahahahahahaha that really put a smile to my face🙂

Don’t worry we won’t flame you! Plus you’re a friend and a friend always gets a special treatment, what you think waasta is only for the rich? LOL

Anyways we understand the difference between the new people at getting used to driving on our roads, especially those from a different driving experience and those who are plain and simple reckless drivers.

Welcome to Bahrain dear and hope you enjoy it here. I will be answering your Bahrain questions so check there too🙂

2. Sous - September 3, 2007

Thank you so much LiB Team . I’m happy to be here🙂 . Hehe first wasta I had in Bahrain for sure. I shan’t worry then about ending up being cursed on lifeinbahrain as I am driving around in Manama😛 . Pheew! Driving is stressful as it is!

3. ash - September 4, 2007

I like the way you call driving “stressful”, and i still recall your driving by Bergåsa last summer. It can’t be more stressful hehe. cheers!!

4. Pia - September 4, 2007

Scam letters.. I have a feeling I have read the same letter somewhere not long ago, only that the same guy was living somewhere in “West Africa”. Same sort of people have infiltrated into Facebox, Hi5, Tagged etc “dating websites” and keep sending rubbish like this. I once replied to one of them, giving them wrong email and other details saying “Oh what a fantastic opportunity for me to earn 0% of your savings, and sorry to hear you TOO have esophageal cancer”. Something like that anyway. I’ve not received too mush junk mail since. Esophageal cancer seems a little too common these days.
Hey, be brave and just drive in Bahrain. I think people in general are more respecting and have manners, so you’ll be fine driving there.

5. Sous - September 4, 2007

Loool Ash good to have you here :P! Now that really cracked me up😀 . Well you if anyone know what I’m like getting stressed while driving (still worry about all that cursing). Please send my regards to your lovely wife🙂 .

Pia, Yes people are for sure better here than in many other places. I am sure once I get the hang of things I will be fine. Please drop me a line if you are planning to cross the bridge🙂

6. Dubbelörnen - September 5, 2007

Driving skills in Sweden… Hmm it reminds me of a picture in this blogg… yes it was one year ago… hmm wasn’t it called “Ditched” …

Happy to have you driving in Bahrein by the way…

*skrattar dubbelvikt*
Kramar vännen

7. Sous - September 9, 2007

Hehe cheers my friend😉. Hope all is going well with your house.


Leave a Reply

