jump to navigation

B as in Bahrain June 1, 2007

Posted by Aella in Al Khobar, Bahrain, Karlskrona, Saudi Arabia, Saudi culture, Sweden.
trackback

When I was about 12 I joined an aquarium club. The room where we kept the fish tanks was always kinda humid and had a peculiar smell… Twohundred and twenty six years later I get reminded of this smell and humidity as I the last two days have been in Bahrain looking for an apartment. Aha, aha. It is true indeed. We will leave Saudi after the summer. And yes it is extremly humid here right now. It’s like stepping out in a steam sauna.

After at lot of thought and discussion we have come to the conclusion that life in Bahrain will be better. Seems the rest of the family have settled in better than I have and no it wasn’t my suggestion to move..

I don’t regret ever having lived in Saudi but the time I had is enough for me… There are so many things missing in here for me to like it. I see no smiles, no happy people, no female faces, no relaxed people. All seriousness and no happiness. I hear no music and no kind words between strangers when they deal with each other. It’s like the zest of life has been sucked out of this country. It isn’t haram to smile and be happy.

I know that millions of people are happy here and would think I am unfair but the fact is that as a Saudi you have your friends and family here and you know and are used to the way of life here. I think it would take many years for me to be one of those expats that say that they are happy here..and life is too short to wait for that day.

I don’t hate this country nor do I dislike the people here. We are just very different. I can say that after one year in the shitty little island of Cyprus I couldn’t say anything positive about the Cypriots and still can’t to this day.  The rudest people ever. That is not the case with me and the Saudis. I have met both kind and helpful people here and haven’t actually been treated bad.

We will be another two weeks in Saudi before we go for vacation in Sweden. Mr S will come back after a few weeks and will be in Saudi until August when we are planning to move. I am so looking forward going to Sweden and we will stay for two months. Just to be able to walk outside without having people staring at me  and without getting pissed off because I have to sit behind walls when I want to go for a coffee. For gods sake do something about that!

Anyway, it will be a nice move and inshalla life there will be a little cheerier…

Comments»

1. Suburban - June 2, 2007

Inshallah, you will love it in Bahrain. My favorite gulf state. Hope the baby is growing happy and healthy! I’ve enjoyed your recent updates.

-S

p.s.- when you get bored; Go to Awali, drive around, and hum the theme song to “the simpsons” in your head. Awali is like someone scooped up a slice of anywhere, America and dropped it in the middle of nowhere.

2. Aysha - June 4, 2007

Oh, how I loved your description. Also, you were quite right by this
“the fact is that as a Saudi you have your friends and family here and you know and are used to the way of life here. I think it would take many years for me to be one of those expats that say that they are happy here..and life is too short to wait for that day.”

And just this fact, that you must live too long to be able to get the good out of a country is not fair. Just the fact that you have to sink in, too deep, before you can have a smile in your day, and a friendly exchage of compliments between you and another..is far too long!

Wish you a safe trip to Sweeden, and yes, a life full of all that is splendid, happy and free…

3. Dubbelörnen - June 4, 2007

Glad ändå för er skull att ni flyttar t Bahrein… Saker o ting kanske ter sig helt annorlunda där. Känns som Saudi kanske inte lockar fram det bästa hos en…

Hoppas du ger dig tid för en round-trip uppåt landet denna gång *ler*

Kramar o välkommen hem

4. Rebecka - June 4, 2007

Hoppas livet bli lättare i Bahrain…Eftersom du flyttade från Beirut till Saudi kan jag förstå att det är en stooor förändring..och svårt att anpassa sig..
Önskar att vi båda kunde flytta till Beirut men som det ser ut nu undrar jag om man någonsin flyttar dit..
Härligt med en Sverige resa!!
Hoppas vi kan träffas!!
Kram på er alla!!

5. Sous - June 5, 2007

Suburban🙂 thanks and yes lil one is growing fine hamdulilla🙂 . Thanks for the tip about Awali, sounds like an interesting place. I will check it out. Hope all is well with you and that the cyclone passes you by without hitting Oman..

Aysha, thank you so much. I hope it will be great. Will write from there and inshalla post some pics. Tell me. Are you looking to move back to Saudi after you have finished your studies?

6. Balqis - June 5, 2007

Tonite should come to Mct
Pray for us

7. Sous - June 5, 2007

I shall. Inshalla it will pass without any problems for you.

8. Moey - June 6, 2007

Glad that you’re moving out of hell sorry I mean ksa

9. Sous - June 6, 2007

Dubbelörn🙂 tack. Jag hoppas kunna komma upp i år inshalla🙂.

Rebecka, klart vi ses, det är ju bara ett stenkast från Karlskrona🙂. Jag vill ju träffa lille Ayman🙂.

Kramar
S

10. Balqis - June 6, 2007

lol even though I don’t know you in person, you sound really a gorgeous girl who never surrenders
I was impressed by your words of this post, real sadness coming from the soul

11. Sous - June 7, 2007

Moey🙂 haha guess u were right. Life is complicated here.

https://sasinsaudi.wordpress.com/about/

Balqis, thanks. Hope the storm didn’t cause any problems for you and your family (and the rest of Oman of course).

12. Balqis - June 7, 2007

I was lucky : my place is not close to the sea and building is new so I just had some water but it was huge, many infrastructures distructed, official 22 deads
Here some pics :
http://www.englishsabla.com/forum/showthread.php?t=47001&page=24
http://www.oxidesigns.com/gonu/
http://www.oxidesigns.com/gonu/gonu2/
Seems jackals are already at work, charging a fortune for water and looting shops
We must work hard to rebuild but we will do it inshallah

13. Sous - June 7, 2007

I just saw it on the news and this is so sad😦 . I am so sorry about all of this Balqis😦 . These pictures makes me so sad. May god bless you all.

14. Aysha - June 9, 2007

Yeah, I will have to go back and make money :”)
Since I am on an F1 visa in the States, the system is to kick my butt as soon as my program of study ends.

Looking forward to seeing the pics!

15. Sous - June 11, 2007

Well Saudi is the place to be if you’re looking to make money🙂

16. Lori - June 16, 2007

Thanks for this post – you eloquently summed up the way I feel about Saudi – the need for smiles and happy people that is never filled here.

Aysha’s comment – And just this fact, that you must live too long to be able to get the good out of a country is not fair. Just the fact that you have to sink in, too deep, before you can have a smile in your day, and a friendly exchage of compliments between you and another..is far too long! is amazingly true.


Leave a Reply

