jump to navigation

Spring April 28, 2007

Posted by Aella in Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia, Saudi culture.
trackback

Now our maid has been a little more than a week and all I can say is al hamdulilla.  I have heard so many stories about maids and this and that but she is truly great. Seeing how she has organised things here I hm kinda realised how disorganised I am. It’s like I don’t have any sense when it comes to order. Where she has put say for example all dvds in one place I had put one here and one there thinking there was a reason for that eeeh yea right. She was sure worth waiting for.

What else?
Ah the driving. Yesterday as I was sitting in the car I saw a kid in the car next to me. Behind the wheel. He must have been about 15 years old.  A skinny little shit. With 3 friends in the car. Two of them smoking. All sitting there confident as if they were adults.  And me, ya childish me, I just felt so insulted that this little shit is allowed to drive and I’m not. I really don’t care that I “got” my license in Beirut only last year and I am not a very skilled driver (nor reckless), I should still have the effing right to drive.

Comments»

1. Dubbelörnen - April 28, 2007

Herre Güd… snacka om dubbelmoral… Ja du det verkar som att ha en svans det är det som betyder nåt i den världen!
PS Har inte passet kommit än…
Kramar

2. Sous - April 29, 2007

hmmnej😦 . Ringde precis till ambassaden men de hade inte fatt dit nagot annu. Hon sa att de ska maila mig nar det kommer suck…

kramar
S

3. Pia - April 30, 2007

So typical behavior.. can’t believe the police is powerless to stop these young “children” from driving here. All the poor women who get injured or even worse in traffic- is it the fault of the men who drive then? Give women permission to drive and there will be less road traffic accidents. I wonder if all the men are happy to drive here..? I know expatriate men who have no car and told me they wouldn’t even buy one here.

4. feroz - May 4, 2007

There should be more blogs from expats in Saudi Arabia, is my opinion.
This is unrelated to your post, but as a son of an expat (born in Riyadh, moved to Khobar, possibly moving to Dubai/Qatar), I feel that SO many experiences that you can have in the Middle East, especially in Saudi Arabia, you can’t have anywhere in the world.
Of course, you see smoking kids driving in cars everywhere, IMO.😉

5. Paul - May 11, 2007

Hi. I can understand your annoyance at not being allowed to drive, merely because you’re a woman.

On another note … you, your friends, or your readers might be interested in my first novel, “Saudi Match Point”, published last month by Blacksmith Books.

As far as I know, it’s the only novel in English set entirely in modern-day Saudi Arabia.

One of the two intersecting plotlines looks at the life of a Saudi woman trying to escape a pending, arranged marriage. The other examines the implications of the U.S. using an al Qaeda hostage-taking as a pretext for seizing Saudi oilfields.

There are also lots of allusions to the absurd or unjust aspects of life in the Kingdom – such as driving rules, for instance.

You can see more about the book and buy it at http://www.blacksmithbooks.com for $10, which includes the cost of international shipping. I’d be interested in any comments you might have.

Regards,
Paul

6. bfssmom - May 13, 2007

I remember those day while in Saudi and then coming back to the states and just getting in the car and driving and driving. I have a dear friend moving to Taif next month (this is a lady who lives in her car) . The other day we gave her a going away party the other day so I bought her a “polly-pockets car and doll” I very carefully cut out a very small Abaya and Hijab in BLACK (glued it on) put the doll in the little convertible and gave it to her. I told her this will be the only car you will be driving in Saudi. Everyone got a big kick out of it.
bfssmom

7. Sous - May 16, 2007

Hiya Paul,
Thanks for the tip. It sounds like a really interesting book but do they ship to Saudi Arabia? Like would the book be allowed here? If so it would be cool to get it. Otherwise I guess i could order it from Sweden this summer🙂.

Bfssmom, that is just the cutest thing🙂 haha. Did she like it? You should have taken a picture of it, it would have been cool to see.


Leave a Reply

