jump to navigation

I blog, therefore I wonder.. March 27, 2007

Posted by Aella in Al Khobar, Bahrain, Beirut, Culture, Dubai, Israel, Karlskrona, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Saudi culture, Sweden.
trackback

What should one care about when blogging?
Should we review our texts again and again in order not to offend anyone that might come across it (I don’t do that)? Should we have to worry if someone misunderstands us? Doesn’t these things take the joy out of blogging?

I think it is unacceptable to spread lies or insult people naming and shaming them (unless it’s an official person – well no need to lie about them anyway) but should we really have to sit and worry our asses off if people dislikes or misunderstands our opinions? And how far can you go in this part of the world without actually crossing any lines? And should we care if a line is crossed? What is allowed to be expressed and what isn’t? And should we really care?

I don’t know really, but I feel I am restricted in expressing my opinions cus I do not actually want to offend anyone (but Israelis I’m afraid) and somtimes I wonder what can be said without having the blog blocked by our friends in Riyadh (Salam guys) but they seem more open minded than I expected anyway.

Talk about taking things too serious huh? I will just stop thinking about it and get on with things.

Comments»

1. Kim H - March 27, 2007

Well you do have to be protective of your identity I think. I have had threats on my life (no kidding!) because of things I thought were not that offensive. Now I am always censoring myself and I hate that. If I could start over I would not post identifying photos of myself or my neighbourhood. But it’s too late now.

2. Sous - March 27, 2007

Oh that’s really nasty😦 . I’m sorry to hear that. And yes that’s what I’m also thinking about. Some people just get too pissed off… I really hope things will be fine for you. Did you ever consider taking the pictures off (to prevent any more people from figuring out where you live I mean)?

3. Dubbelörnen - March 28, 2007

Usch vännen låter inget vidare… Vet inte vad jag ska säga… Hoppas bara du kan komma över till Bahrein, ert andningshål… ofta….ofta…ofta…

4. LiB Team - March 28, 2007

That’s why LiB is an anonymous blog, not because we’re cowards but we do care for our safety, Arabs tend to get offended and fight at the drop of a hat. Therefore we decided in order for us to be able to highlight all the bad things that happen in Bahrain cuz these things DO offend a lot of people because they know that they are the worst kind of people, we decided to keep it anonymous. That way we can cross the lines which are actually not realistic lines, to us, it’s normal, behaviors are bad and should be shown to the rest. To them, we appear as crossing the line while in fact to the rest of the world, we’re just trying to bring a lot of issues to attention and maybe one day these bad people would realize that they are indeed doing wrong things. Maybe they will straighten up, maybe they will NEVER!

5. DC - March 28, 2007

I enjoyed the post about the advantages you see of Sweden’s culture… why delete it? It’s important that the close-minded be >>forced

6. DC - March 28, 2007

I enjoyed the post about the advantages you see of Sweden’s culture… why delete it? It’s important that the close-minded be forced to entertain other opinions. Deleting it is simply appeasement. It’ll just worsen the problem.

But do you not see the irony in a culture of “submission”, though?

As for the comments about the Israelis, do you think you can try to make a distinction between the Israeli Government and the Israeli People? After all, there is a not-so-small % of Israelis who are for peace and who are in fact, against their Government’s policies.

That being said, if you do want to remain biased, why not also liberally/appropriately criticise Israeli Government’s “opponents” in the Middle East? After all, they are certainly not without fault – not least of which in their desire to obliterate a bona fide country and its people, indeed.

Regards.

7. Sous - March 28, 2007

Dubblelörn, ja du nu längtar jag mycket till Bahrain😦

Lib Team, I really understand why you guys have chosen to remain anonymous. You bring up important issues and of course the people that cause havoc in Bahrain doesn’t like to admitt what they are guilty of and therefore get pissed off (since they actually know what they have done of course). I think you are bringing up good topics so keep posting.

DC, I do know the difference between the Israeli people and their government but at the same time they have voted for the governement that they have. Before last summer I would be the first one to stand up for the average Israeli but after having seen them on tv during the war saying it’s ok to bomb Lebanon I really can’t feel bad for them. I feel a bit split in this question since I know there are many nice and good Israeli people but at the same time I don’t think they have any right to the land they are living on.
As for the Arab countries and their government, well, we all know what they are like and no on is pretending any different. I am biased and will always be since I have lived 2 years in Lebanon and was devastated to see what the Israelis did to the country and people that I love.
The post you mentioned isn’t deleted. I was told after posting it that it would be seen as offensive (by a good friend) and took it off to review it since it was written in anger. Since I like the majority of the people I have met during my years in the Arab world I thought perhaps I should try not to come across as if I have nothing good to say about this culture. It will most likely still offend someone but these are not my intentions.

8. DC - March 28, 2007

Gotcha. Still… if they’re your friends, they should respect your right to have opinions. Plus, if your intention was/is not to offend but to bring up very valid problems – in a constructive way – then, all the better.

Anyway, self-censorship is not the way to go – esp. not amongst friends.

Cheers.

9. DC - March 28, 2007

Oh, as for the land disputes… no point going there – you’ll get a million different answers.

But… Israelis have the right to defend themselves. I am not biased in that, I have nothing to gain either way.

The international media and the media in neutral Asia (where I originate), suggested that Lebanon had entered Israeli borders without permission blah blah blah. It is inconceivable that Israel would have invaded Lebanon without reason – they’re brutal, not stupid. They also need international support more than other M.E. countries. Anyway…

It’d be interesting to know what the Nordic countries thought.

10. Sous - March 29, 2007

Hiya DC,

I know for sure my friends’ comment was well meant🙂 . It was my decison to remove the post and not an advice from anyone.

As for Israelis defeding themselves, well if they stopped attacking everyone they wouldn’t have to I guess😉.

Have a great day DC🙂

11. amellie - March 31, 2007

I think people will get offended when they read my blog. I write everything in my blog freely…😀

12. Sous - March 31, 2007

It’s great that you feel free to do that😀 . As long as a blogger can stay anonymous they can continue writing freely.

13. Arab Lady - April 3, 2007

hey dont even mention that u cant express your self on ur spot…well i’m living in UAE but dont dare mentioning KSA or anything related to Saudi Arabia on the blog (Salam guys How r u doing)

14. Trine - April 3, 2007

DC and Sous, if you read Haaretz newspaper online (a good and moderate israeli newspaper) you’ll see that Shimon Peres has admitted that the war last summer was a misstep… AND Prime Minister Olmert has equally said that the war was indeed planned 4 months beforehand! Just the fact that theres a committee to investigate what really happened in the israeli government before and during that war, is very positive – and a great step forward.

I am truly looking forward to blog from Saudi – and see how long it takes before I get blocked😉

GOD PÅSKE – Happy Easter to those who celebrate (or just eat chocolate shaped as eggs)😉

15. Trine - April 3, 2007
16. Sous - April 4, 2007

Arab Lady,I apologise about my ignorance in this issue but why can’t you mention Saudi in your blog?

Trine, thanks, I read it in your Norweigan blog and that just show what kinda off bull it was about Israel defending themselves. Glad Påsk till dig med🙂. Jag visste faktiskt inte att det var påsk nu.

17. nuh ibn zbigniew gondek - April 6, 2007

As salaam alaikum.

I am a Canadian Muslim writer — I just happened to surf onto your site today.

Come by my blog insha’Allah if you have an interest in poetry, reflections, fiction etc…

Ma’as salaama,

nuh ibn

18. Sous - April 8, 2007

Wa aleikum salam,

Your blog is really nice, you have some wisdom gathered there. Thanks for your visit.

19. Idetrorce - December 16, 2007

very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
Idetrorce

20. Sous - December 16, 2007

Thanks and you really don’t have to😉

21. Nicole - December 16, 2007

Oh, he must have done a mass thing with that comment.
He did that on my Fitnessblog as well😛

22. Sous - December 16, 2007

Hehe silly😛 he doesn’t even have a link so I don’t see the use of spreading these comments.

23. QuaniahaH - November 2, 2008

I read some of the posts and I think it is a great blog. I want make the best use of my quaint suicide Do you want a fresh joke from net? What is Beethoven doing in his coffin right now? Decomposing.


Leave a Reply

