jump to navigation

A kingdom for a maid February 23, 2007

Posted by Aella in Al Khobar, Culture, Food, Saudi Arabia, Saudi culture.
trackback

Felt a bit brave yesterday and decided to take li’l L and A to Applebees. Didn’t think in a million years that I would go out and eat with a three week old baby but we still did. Applebees in Khobar has quite a decent family section I would say. Of course it is upstairs and dark as Hitlers bunker but it’s still ok. L slept for about ten minutes and then decided to wake up. I had to go and change her and you would think there should be changing facilities in a family section wouldn’t you? Well of course there was none. Managed to change her anyway and even got a helping hand from a ten year old cute Lebanese girl (Lebs rule yezzz). All in all, the lunch went fine to my surprise.

Now over to something really, really interesting. Corruption and slowpokes.
We are looking to get a maid since a few months ago. To get a maid you need to get a visa for maid. As expats we cannot get visas for a maid. So, we have to ask a guy at my husbands job who deals with visas and who will fix it somehow. Now he has had this on his table for quite some time now. And has he gotten anywhere yet? I wouldn’t think so. He has a system where he takes all the time in the world (doing nothing basically) and then he gets back to you saying things are IMPOSSIBLE to sort out. Ok you say, then he adds UNLESS you pay this and that. Seems quite a common way of doing things here. So you pay up but still there is a twist to things…
Now in this case he told us that the people that makes visas signed our paper saying it is “not applicable”  to have a maid in our case. Well fuck me sideways….he decided we don’t need a maid? That is probably the same person that has 7 maids at home himself. Now EVERYONE has a maid in Saudi Arabia damn it! If we, who have two kids under the age of two and one more child don’t need a maid then who does?
So our dear visa fixer says, -I might have to go to a dude who knows a dude who will ask a prince to sign… How silly does this get? Should we really need a prince to sign for us to get a maid? Unbefuuuuuckinglivable!
I give up here for today.

Comments»

1. Elisabeth - February 23, 2007

To your last question I just answer… peacefully, full of modest, with a humble voice, scratching my right foot, lowering my head… a simple…
YES YOU HAVE TO PAY THE DUDE AGAIN!!!

….. and the dude gets the prince’s signature and… hopefully… yr maid is on her way…

*gapskrattar*

As always Sous you make my day… my friend
ELisabeth

2. Sous - February 24, 2007

Hahahaha all I can say is INSHALLA! Inshalla, inshalla, inshalla! Things are taaaaking tiiiime duwn ‘ere. Swedish people can drive me crazy with their time facist behaviour and their Ohh we have to follow every rule to the letter but down here it’s extreme in the opposite way. Isn’t there any country that is in middle?

3. LiB Team - February 25, 2007

welcome to the ARAB world, S. Then they wonder why they are lagging behind the rest of the civilized world, and they get upset when someone calls them savages.

4. Pia - February 25, 2007

There we go again. You really need loads of patience here in dealing with certain people and authorities, and sometimes when the customer service is actually REAL service, then it is something like AMAZING, out of this world experience. I think us Scandinavians will always have challenging times ahead here. By the way, i did not know getting a maid would be that difficult… Give me strength…

5. Sous - February 25, 2007

Thanks dear LibTeam😛 sure is good to be here😛 haha . I can really relate to you experience in your last post even if it’s not the same thing.

Pia, patience sure is needed. I thought I seen it all during my two years in Beirut but it it seems I haven’t seen anything yet.

6. Global Voices Online » Blog Archive » Saudi Arabia: Government Cracking Down on Bloggers, New Saudi Ambassador to US, and More - February 27, 2007

[…] posted about the hassles of getting a maid in Saudi. Sam linked to an article that talks about a Saudi […]

7. Another Soul in KSA - March 16, 2007

Hi!
It feels nice to be in the same boat sometimes. I was looking for some info on how to get a maid to the kingdom and came across your postings.
I will keep searching for the light of hope:-)

8. Sous - March 17, 2007

Hi there,
I wish you all the best in your search. Our visa was ready a few weeks after I wrote this post. The agency is saying the maid will come in a few weeks now but I believe it when I see it😉 .

9. khobar saudi arabia - March 28, 2007

khobar saudi arabia

I Googled for something completely different, but found your page…and have to say thanks. nice read.

10. Naureen - April 13, 2007

Hi all, I am sorry this is a bit different from the topic. Can anyone of you guys give me the recipe of Mandi? Or any website that has Mandi’s recipe? Please…Thanks.

11. mosalf - July 27, 2007

Hi S…

Your colum is excellent reading material.

We are asian and need a maid…since we have a baby as well. Dont know how to find one and dont know who to trust.

thanx mosalf

12. Sous - August 12, 2007

Thank you Mosalf,

I hope you will be able to get around things and get a maid. It is frustrating indeed having to deal with all these people who are just out to make a quick buck. Good luck.

All the best
S


Leave a Reply

