jump to navigation

Allahu Akbar and Eid Mubarak December 30, 2006

Posted by Aella in Al Khobar, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Saudi culture, Sweden.
trackback

So now he is dead. Saddam Hussein. If it was wrong or right to execute him I do not know but for sure he deserved a punishment for his crimes. His last words were apparantly Allahu Akbar. True indeed. Just wanted to make a note of this event and day. Strange day indeed to make such an execution. First day of Eid and the tv stations are showing so much footage and pictures of his life. In a way I guess it could be beneficial for us if we think about who he was and how we ourselves could improve our behaviour and living and another way it is not a very festive thing to see his evil and miserable face wherever we turn.

Eid Mubarak to you all. I wish you a great time with your friends and family. May God bless you all.

Our visa issue was solved shortly after I wrote the previous post. I love flexible countries (and no I am not talking bribes here ok). In Sweden if they say no to something then it’s no and no and no. Nooo way around it for sure. Here you talk to a guy who tells you about another guy (that is actually working) who says sure I can do that and voila you have solved your problem.
I’ts great to be here in Manama and I have a list of things I want to do before I go back. A visit to the souk is one of them. We have visited the cafe Don Vito two nights in a row and I find it to be a really cosy place with good food.  Veranda and  Aroma Cafe are two other place which are nice to just sit and chill in with an arghile, (not for me) some food and drinks. Just love the feeling of bei ng able to just chill. Something I haven’t been able to do in Khobar. It always feels like such an issue to go somewhere and once you have eaten you can’t just sit and chill (or can you??). Maybe someone can recommend a chill out place in Khobar or Dammam? And by the way, aren’t there any arghile places in Khobar?

Comments»

1. Balqis - December 31, 2006

Hmmm flexibility here in Omani vocabulary not existing
Maybe you had big wasta :p
Enjoy yourself and happy new year

2. Sous - December 31, 2006

Haha ya maybe ur right and I am just being naive😛 .
Happy New Year to you too🙂 .

3. Elisabeth - December 31, 2006

Ett Gott Nytt År till dig o din familj!!

Kramar Elisabeth

4. reema - December 31, 2006

There are many cafes that serve argilah in Saudi.There is probably at least one Jofrey’s cafe that serves it.If you want a place to chill there’s a place on the seaside in Dammam,you go straight after Toy Town and Macdonalds,waaaaaaaaaaay straight there is a place called “layaly”or something with nights,in it they serve Shisha too with complete privacy in these cabins overlooking the sea.

5. Sous - January 1, 2007

Elisabeth, Gott Nytt År till dig och din familj med. Hoppas ni hade det trevligt. Känner mig mörbultad i dag. Nu blir lillan född 2007 i alla fall🙂 !

Reema, thank you so much🙂 . That place sounds great, we will check it out once we get back. Happy New Year to you and your family!

6. bint al saud - January 10, 2007

Laiali does serve sheesha but beware of the marauding cats…you’ll either want to feed them what you order or adopt them and take them home…they are so sad looking😦

7. Sous - January 10, 2007

Aww😦 I better not go there then. I want to take care of all cute cats I see but my husband thinks otherwise (which is good I guess).


Leave a Reply

