jump to navigation

Final countdown December 19, 2006

Posted by Aella in Al Khobar, Israel, Karlskrona, Pictures, Saudi Arabia, Sweden.
trackback

30 days left until estimated due date. 30 days inshalla. It has been a long stretch and I am really looking forward seeing my little baby who by the way is already keeping me up at night.

The temperature has been around 8-10 degrees in the afternoon lately. According to my dad, they had 12 degrees where he lives in Sweden. Never thought it would be colder here than there.

I saw Mr Tony Blair on Euronews today…celebrating Hannuka with Mr Olmert. With a little hat and all. How low can you sink mr Blair (youdroolinglapdogofBush) ? Not to mention the ridiculous things you said afterwards about Hamas having to acknowledge the state of Israel. Why should anyone have to?

I baked cinnamon rolls for the first time in my life the other day and they actually turned out quite well. Need to work a little on the presentation though😉 . Baking cinnamonrolls or bullar as we call them is one of those things you just have to be able to do as a Swedish citizens or your passport might get confiscated. Well, I passed the test and I will continue baking them. I guess I am not really into eating cakes and buns though. I have also been baking some really, really nice bread. Baked some today and I just can’t get myself to eat anything but bread all day.

Bullar

Cinnamonrolls United

Comments»

1. Elisabeth - December 20, 2006

Well embaressed to say that I’m not that good in baking bullar, I don’t even bake them at all… My son says that I must practise cause I can’t be a grandmom and not bake bullar! All grandmoms in Sweden can bake bullar so hopefully I will have some more years to find out the way of baking them…😉 Perhaps you could send me yr recipe so I can make a new try…🙂

Kramar Elisabeth

2. Sous - December 20, 2006

Haha then we are the same then hehe. I kept thinking…uuh it’s too hard and stuff but it wasn’t as bad as I thought. But yeah he is right, we will be laughed at if we have grandkids and we don’t know how to bake bullar hehe😉 . There will be pictures of us in the Hall of Shame🙂 !

3. bint al saud - December 21, 2006

They look delicious – can you share the recipe perhaps?

4. Sous - December 22, 2006

Thanks🙂 . Sure. I will put it here as soon as I get back from Bahrain. Aah I just love being here. Off to Fuddruckers for brekkie now!

5. Sous - December 24, 2006

Hiya,

Here’s a recipe like mine that I found on Radio Sweden

“Swedish Cinnamon Rolls (Kanelbullar)

Swedish Cinnamon buns are a tasty treat served year round. They are best served with coffee, tea or milk.

What you need:
Dough:
100 grams unsalted butter
5 dl milk
50 grams fresh yeast (dry yeast abt 2.5 – 3 tsp)
½ tsp salt
1-1½ dl sugar
1 tsp ground cardamom
13 dl flour (approx)

Filling:
100 grams unsalted butter (softened)
1 dl sugar
2 tbl ground cinnamon

Topping:
1 egg, beaten
Pearl or crushed sugar

What you do:
Pre-heat oven to 250C.

Melt butter, add milk and heat to 37C
Crumble yeast into a large bowl. Add some of the milk mixture and stir until yeast is dissolved. Add remaining liquid, salt, sugar, cardamom and about 2/3 of the flour. Knead until smooth and elastic.

Add most of the rest of the flour, reserving a small amount for rolling out the dough. Knead until dough begins to clean the bowl. Sprinkle with flour and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 30 minutes.

Punch down dough and knead for a few minutes. Turn out onto a board or counter knead again, adding more flour if needed to clean board.

Roll out the dough into a rectangle. Spread the softened butter all over, sprinkle with the sugar and cinnamon and roll up like a Swiss roll, starting on the short side. Cut into 1-2 cm slices and place on greased baking sheets (or sheets covered with baking paper).

Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 30 minutes.

One doubled in size, brush rolls with beaten egg and sprinkle with pearl or crushed sugar. Bake for 5-10 or until golden brown. Cover while cooling and enjoy!

Smaklig måltid! ”

The recipe can be found at:
http://www.sr.se/cgi-bin/International/nyhetssidor/artikel.asp?nyheter=1&ProgramID=2054&Artikel=752394


Leave a Reply

