jump to navigation

Swastika rider November 26, 2006

Posted by Aella in Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia, Sweden.
trackback

 Managed to take a pic inside Rashid Mall on Friday just before opening. I know that you are allowed to photograph things here here in the kingdom as long as you don’t take pics of people that don’t want to be included but I still feel a little uneasy about it. People are little uptight about cameras from what I have heard. I will still continue taking pictures though.

Inside Rashid Mall, Khobar

Inside Rashid Mall

Swaztika bike

And duh, outside Rashid Mall.

I am really wondering who is the owner of this bike. Is it a hindu, buddhist or  what (since the swaztika is a sacred symbol in these religions)? Or is it someone who is just plainly in love with the ideas of the Nazis? I know this symbol is common in some Asian countries due to their religions but in Europe where I am from, it is mainly associated with Hitler and his men. I am pretty sure you would get arrested for having this on your bike in Sweden (seeeee we too are open minded and tolerant!)…. unless someone actually breaks your bike first.

Comments»

1. LiB Team - November 28, 2006

Judging by the “wanted” word next to one of the symbols, I think the bike “rider” thinks it’s “cool” to have something that defies the authorities. then again, if this is in saudi, the authorities don’t know jack shit lol

2. Sous - November 28, 2006

Hehe no it seems so. I heard that political symbols are forbidden here yet I have seen people renting out kiddie bikes with pics of Che Guevara by the Corniche. Thought it was kinda funny hehe.

3. DW - April 3, 2007

I know a Shia friend who is obsessed about Nazis for some reason. I don’t know why but what I get from him is fascinated their accomplishments as it seems.. about the military power they had.. weapons, tanks.. etc. It seemed more like a fascination about their military power and weapons he inherited from war games. He’d be stupid to try and be a Nazi though.

4. Sous - April 4, 2007

Wow, sorry but your friend seems to be a little eccentric. These guys were freaks no doubt about it. And evil beyond comprehension.

5. snowball - March 7, 2008

freedom of speech, freedom to express one’s thoughts – ideas and beliefs should not be limited to one race/species only ! take your blinkers off, open your eyes to the real world (and the new fascists) and not the one all politicians (and now even the cowardly pope) want you to be controlled by.
my bike’s called – zyklonB, get the message ?

6. Sous - March 7, 2008

I agree with you but im not sure I follow u all the way hmmmaybe if I smoke something I too will get it (i dont get the message no!)

7. Nicole - March 8, 2008

Nope, not a Buddhist.
That is def. the twisted version of the Peace symbol.
The Buddhist version is this one:
http://rainmountain.wordpress.com/life-in-korea/daegu-taegu/dhongwasa-temple-palgong-mountain/

Yes, in Europe you get arrested. They even arrest people wearing the Buddhist version, because they don’t know any better😦

People here keep telling me (when I tell them I am German) “Oh, Hitler – GREAT man!”
Uh? Yeah, right….

@Mr. Snowball.
If you check in the constitutions that contain the “freedom of speech” thing you will probably find some stuff that explains you why people that preach hate and terror are not allowed to do so.

8. Sous - March 11, 2008

It must be boring when people say such things😦
Anyway, didn’t Hitler have an Austrian passport anyway?

9. Nicole - March 13, 2008

Technically he was Austrian…..😉


Leave a Reply

