jump to navigation

Ikea in Dhahran – Saudi December 4, 2008

Posted by Aella in Al Khobar, Bahrain, Culture, Food, Manama, Pictures, Saudi Arabia, Saudi culture, Sweden.
trackback

ikea logo

So apparently according to a readers comments IKEA in Dhahran has opened. To think that it is only across the border filled with goodies of all kinds kind aaah ticks me off since as we all know Saudi is not a country you can just visit. Sooo another reader asked if there are any delivery services by IKEA to Bahrain. I emailad them and got this answer.

“Morning,
At the moment we can’t do deliveries to Bahrain, there is a lot of things in regard to customs. If you can arrange a driver to come & pick up the goods we can hopefully help you the assembly of the items.

Regards,

Yousef Imad

Customer Service Manager

IKEA-Dhahran, Saudi Arabia”

So there you go folks. IKEA hasn’t figured out how to make money out of us here but I am sure someone with a Bahraini passport surely must come up with the idea to take orders from people here (for a certain charge) and cross the border and pick up the items, since apparently it is not a problem if you send a driver.

I want things :( …….now! I want ginger bread, crisp bread, chocolate, this AND that. Sigh…. is this hell? To know that IKEA is so close yet you can’t go there. This is the first time since I left Sweden that I am living kinda close to IKEA. Cyprus, no, Lebanon, no and Saudi well too far to Riyadh. Ah this sucks.

Man I wish I could live in an IKEA showroom. Would have made me happy.

On another note. Check out the IKEA hijab in the UK

IKEA HIJAB

I guess this won’t be needed in the islamic country of Saudi Arabia since from what I hear no women are allowed to work in the stores. I hope this is not true because that would be soooo un-Swedish (as I call it). If it is true… it’s time for you guys to let it happen because an IKEA store without women is like hot chocolate without cocoa, useless, so sort it out. And ehm… I’m serious.

Comments»

1. soulsearch - December 22, 2008

Thanks S for emailing them, we will be going to IKEA soon to get some of their goodies, (my husband & I are one of the biggest fans!!!) I will surely let you know should you want us to get you anything! ;)

SoulSearch

2. Sous - December 24, 2008

Oooh :) thank you. I can surely give u a lil list :P .Man I miss having “caviar” and sliced egg on crisp bread mmmmm.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

