jump to navigation

Queer ways April 8, 2007

Posted by Aella in Al Khobar, Bahrain, Beirut, Lebanon, Manama, Pictures, Saudi Arabia, Saudi culture, Sweden.
trackback

Holding hands

Men holding hands in Bahrain

On the parking lots by some of the malls here are yellow spiky metal thingies sticking up from the ground that are designed in a way that you can only drive from one direction or they will puncture you tires. They also have them by the gates of many compounds to protect them from evil minded people. If you drive from the right direction they will be pushed down into the ground as you drive across them. If you drive the other way, well then you will have to make a visit to your local tire company very soon. Seems some people aren’t aware of this, or well at least not the Asian driver that took his employers big ass GMC and drove the wrong way just as I left Dhahran mall. First I heard like a strange sound as if he was driving with his wheels touching the sidewalk and then the sound of tires going flat. He didn’t realise that all tires were going flat until some Saudi guys started pointing and waving for him to stop. Hmm poor guy probably got a one way ticket back to wherever he came from…

Not much happening here. Still haven’t been to Bahrain since mid January and it’s like buhu. I am hoping the passport will come next week. Not sure how I feel any longer about things other than I know it’s not normal for me to live in a place like this. I know if you’re brought up here you think it’s all normal but to me it just isn’t. It’s just too weird for me not to see women anywhere…Ah I won’t go into that.

Was hoping to go to Beirut sometimes April but I don’t think it will happen since my mother in law is heading this way soon. Ah, how I miss my Beirut.

Something I find quite interesting here is the gay Filipino men working in some of the shops here. How do I know they are gay…? Well they are blatantly gay no doubt about it, and I find it quite cool. Before you come here you hear so much about gays having a hard time here and I am sure that’s true but these gay men working in the shops (and being all gayish as these guys are) are a slap in the face of the system here. Or isn’t it? Is it perhaps just a notion that gays aren’t welcome in this society? Anyway, I am less sure of their nationality than I am of their sexual orientation. They make me smile though.

And by the way, I know it is common here and in some other Arab countries that men hold hands but I still can’t help but smiling when I see it. It’s just so cute hehe. My son just can’t get over it. If you saw two men holding hands in Sweden you would know for sure they are gay (unless they are arabs that is hehe) but of course that’s not the rule here. I just feel like “coochycoochy how cute” when I see two tall men in thob, gutra and beard holding hands muaaahaahaha. Such sweeties.

Comments»

1. Pia - April 8, 2007

Hej hej. Jattetrevligt att du skriver The Blog igen. It must have been quite entertaining to see this guy blowing up the tires, funny that he did not realize it himself.. At times I really feel like returning to civilization (London would be fine), my first vacation is in June, can’t wait. I understand very well that you too need a break :) Hang in there though. Kram, P

2. Dubbelörnen - April 9, 2007

Håller tummarna så hårt jag bara kan så passet blir klart o du får komma ut i friheten… Skulle nog heller inte kunna anpassa mig till ett liv därborta, inte ens för några år…. Har nog för mycket “free spirits” inom mig…

Tror det kommer att bli bättre för dig bara ni får passet o maiden… el åtminstone underlätta livet….

3. I'm no Freak Saudi - April 11, 2007

I don’t know what their problem is, seems like alot of these Saudis & Emaratiis like holding hands.

They must think they are manly or something.

Yea, they are really manly wearing tight, hourglass shaped dresses, having sex with men and animals, holding hands and having every right to beat that driver’s grandmothers to death for failing to raise a family in the only way the saudis see fit.

Saudis are just freaks, literally in most ways one can imagine.

4. amellie - April 12, 2007

yeah.. i saw many gays there. my friends always complained because they’re approached by gays in the malls very often :P

it’s very easy to be a gay there. no one seems suspicious… holding hands is not a taboo, kissing is not forbidden… and the society is much worried about men and women mixing together… yet ppl have no idea that gays become so common nowadays.

5. Sous - April 12, 2007

Pia and Dubbelörn,
Thanks for cheering me up. Still waiting for the passport but hopefully it will come next week. Jag har nog också lite för mycket Free Spirits för att bo i det här landet ;)

“I’m no freak Saudi” and Amellie,
Hm ya things here surely aren’t the way they seem from the outside. You do get kinda surprised at times.

6. borhan - April 13, 2007

However, I do not think that “holding hands” is the right word to convey this act, cause it could convey a wrong meaning.
Well people here hold hand to show or shake respect and friendship. Also when welcoming other people.
And there is a difference between lovers holding hands and friends or diplomacies holding hands.
See for example:
http://images.google.com/images?svnum=10&um=1&hl=en&safe=active&q=king+abdullah+bush&btnG=Search+Images

I think it is freaky that today in western societies, holding hands in a respectful manner between men can be interpreted as a sexual sign !! What about opposite sex kissing on the face in the west, do you consider them having sex.

7. borhan - April 13, 2007

sorry

Well people here hold hand to show or shake respect and friendship. Also when welcoming other people.

However, I do not think that “holding hands” is the right word to convey this act, cause it could convey a wrong meaning. I am not sure if you are talking about shaking or holding.

And there is a difference when lovers hold hands and when friends hold hands.
And it is a cultural thing , see for example:
http://images.google.com/images?svnum=10&um=1&hl=en&safe=active&q=king+abdullah+bush&btnG=Search+Images

I think it is freaky that today in western societies, holding hands in a respectful manner between men can be interpreted as a sexual sign !! What about opposite sex kissing on the face in the west, do you consider them having sex.

8. abujoori - April 13, 2007

Your comment about men holding hands reminded me of an old story happened back in 1998 when I was visiting Monteral with couple of friends and “by mistake” I alsmot hold my friends hands and he looked at me suprized and angry telling me that it could be very well misunderstood to do that there.

I cannot recall that I do that personally but I do not know what is wrong with that!. There will be always a difference between cultures and what is acceptable in one place while not acceptable in other places of the world!.

9. Naureen - April 13, 2007

Hi all, I am sorry this is very different from the topic. Can anyone of you guys give me the recipe of Mandi? Or any website that has Mandi’s recipe? Please…Thanks.

10. I'm no Freak Saudi - April 13, 2007

WAIT A MINUTE.

We are not talking about peopel shaking hands or other such gestures.

We are talking about those freak Saudis & Emaraatis that hold each others hands while:

Roaming the mall, holding hands as they walk, looking for little boys to prey on or girls to assault.

Sitting at kfc, eating a sandwhich with one hand, holding each other with the other hand.

Standing in the elevator holding hands, pressing the buttons together.

In the showroom, holding hands while they talk to the salesman about the latest full option landcruiser/gmc.

We are not talking about people holding hands “respectfully”, but “intimately”.

11. Sous - April 14, 2007

Borhan and Abujoori,

I don’t find it “wrong” for men to hold hands. I am just not used to it and the only men holding hands where I come from would be homosexuals. These are different cultures and if you were in my country you would react to things there that in your country would be interpreted in another way. And yes I am talking about men holding hands as they are walking along..
As for kisses on the cheeks, well we don’t normally do that in Sweden and I have only encountered it since I came to the Arab world (aha yes I do know that people in other European countries do it).

12. abujoori - April 14, 2007

I’m no Freak Saudi,
Well what you are talking about are apperantly homesexuals who insist in showing our their idntity. I did not notice such a thing personally but I can believe that it does exist.

13. Proud 2B a Saudi - April 24, 2007

Is this website for gays? because you sounds all gays, especially the freak but Thanks God Not a Saudi.
:-)

14. Sous - April 24, 2007

Haha ya it’s for gays so welcome :).

15. mon - November 19, 2008

I couldn’t understand on the first time when I was in Saudi Arabia about the two hondsome guys holding hands together until one day I found out a derty secret of them ……..

ok, ok, its happining to me hondsome guy has started to give me something as a gift until a days passing by and he propossed to me to go out and i did go with him with no maliceious intention. surprising when he asked me to take off my dress …. ohhh
i cant believe until i have done for what he wanted cause of no choice..

amazing

16. jason - December 10, 2008

so true men in saudi of saudi approach other men openly;obuviously with the intention to bed them.
It was a shocker considerin the saudi law.
And yes i have been asked out in more than one occasion.
Take Care men .(i.e if u arent gay)

17. jason - December 10, 2008

gr8 blog Sous.

18. Sous - December 10, 2008

Thanks Jason and hehe I can’t help but laughing when I read of all the incidents that has happened to people and the upset feelings this subject causes.
Not so long ago me and a friend had 2 young Saudis checking us out, trying to say something cool as they were holding hands :D . It just kills me to see 2 guys checking out chicks as they are holding hands :P . Just kills me! Must be the best way to scare gurls off :)

19. jason - December 13, 2008

so true .they think its super cool ,checkin out chicks while holdin hands with their male frnds.It gives out totally mixed signals.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

